| Home | Contact Us | Applicants | Recipients | Alumni | Scholarship Foundation of IRC Site Banner
Awarding need-based college scholarships to Indian River County students since 1965
Plan for College
Apply for Award
Renew your Award
Support Us
Alumni News
News and Events


Applicant News

Golf Classic

Football Classic

Scholarship News

Photo Gallery


Join Us for these fall fundraising events!

Golf Tournament logo

DFS Board readies for Football Classic

$695,000 Awarded at 51st Awards Ceremony

Class of 2016 Scholarship Foundation Recipients Recipients gather at St. Edward's Waxlax Center for the Performing Arts for Scholarship Foundation's 2016 Awards Ceremony. Click for names and awards.

Gifts Fund Four New Awards

This year's recipients were beneficiaries of nine new awards created by supporters passionate about education.

Johns Island Employee Scholarship JICSL's Emilie Hinman, left, and Pat Thompson, far right, with recipient Kristine Aguirre and her mother


The John's Island Community Service League Employee Scholarship was created through a new partnership between Scholarship Foundation and the Johns Island Community Service League Scholarship Committee. The Committee wanted to tap into Scholarship Foundation's expertise to administer an award program they had been managing for their employees for many years. Children of JI employees, including HS seniors and those already in college, are eligible to apply through Scholarship Foundation for this award, which is funded by JI residents who value education. Committee members presented the 2016 award to Kristine Aguirre, a graduate of IRCHS and IRSC who is currently attending the University of Florida with a major in biology and pre-health.


The Jay and Linda Knoll Scholarship was created by local philanthropists Jay and Linda Knoll who believe in supporting education and wished to support an Indian River County student. We are grateful for their commitment and generosity. Athena Nolan, who will attend the University of Florida with a major in political science, was the recipient of this 2016 award.


The Garden Club of Indian River County Scholarship was created to promote awareness of the environment, especially horticultural and agricultural studies. Club members presented the award to Aurora Arrington, who will be attending Seton Hall University with a major in biology.


The James and Jane Schwiering Family Scholarship was established this year by a local couple who are no strangers to our community. The Schwierings moved to Vero Beach in 1972 where they raised their family and established themselves as successful business people with an ongoing desire to "give back." Believing in the value of a college education, they provided this award to reduce the financial burden on a deserving local student. Their son Jonathan, who has been a member of the SFIRC Board of Directors since 2012, presented the award along with his brother Jordan. The recipient was Jordan Kimball, a SRHS senior who earned her AA this year and wll enroll at Florida Atlantic University as a junior majoring in marine science.


Jorgensen Awards Recipients   Jake Owen Foundation Award recipient   
Left: Garden Club Scholarship recipient Aurora Arrington, with Garden Club officials Linda Beardslee, left, and Renae Senn
Right: Jonathan and Jordan Schwiering, left and right, with Schwiering Scholarship recipient Jordan Kimball, holding certificate, and her mother.

Long-time Supporters Present 2016 Awards

Click below for details

Quail Valley Charities Scholarship

Orchid Island Scholarships

Dystra Scholarship

Steyer Scholarships

Tyrone McGriff Memorial Scholarship

Wells Fargo Opportunity Scholarship

Grand Harbor Outreach Scholarship

Realtors Association Scholarship

Herget Foundation Scholarship

Click for our 2016 Summer Newsletter

Links to
News Highlights Archive

2013 Highlights

2014 Highlights

2015 Highlights


Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Address: PO Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1820  ·  Phone:772-569-9869  ·  Fax: 772-770-6181
Email: info@SFIndianRiver.org