| Home | Contact Us | Applicants | Recipients | Alumni | Scholarship Foundation of IRC Site Banner
Awarding need-based college scholarships to Indian River County students since 1965
Plan for College
Apply for Award
Renew your Award
Support Us
Alumni News
News and Events


Applicant News

Golf Classic

Kickoff Classic

Scholarship News

Photo Gallery


Jaffe Scholars Make their Mark

2008 Jaffe Scholars
Frances Jaffe (l), Harvey Kornicks (m) and David Jaffe (r) with 2008 Jaffe Scholars

Kristen Rocha, a VBHS grad majoring in communications and Spanish at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia

"œShe proved she has the courage to take on any challenge in the service of others. Her dedication amazed me, and her energy and her genuine regard for others gave me new hope. She has left her mark on so many of us..."

Marcel Wolff, a SRHS grad studying computer science and history at Dartmouth College in Hanover, NH:

"œHe is the ideal of the well-balanced student. Playing violin for senior citizens, swimming competitively, captaining the school tennis team or working with the community theater, he is involved with his school and community in a meaningful and invaluable way."

DFS Awards $412,500 at 43rd Awards Ceremony
May 22, 2008

43rd Annual Awards Night
Recipients gathered at St. Edward's Waxlax Center for the Performing Arts for Dollars for Scholars 2008 Awards Ceremony. Click for Awards Night Photo Gallery

Class of 2008 Awards

Ruth E. Anderson Memorial Scholarship: Christopher Hardin, Omar Hazien, and Joshua Lubczynski
John Avril Memorial Scholarship: Douglas Snow
Merrill and Helen Barber Memorial Scholarship: Angelica Gabor
Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Honor of Samuel A. Block: Elise Brawner
Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Memory of Marian L. Block: Michael Mangiapani
Thomas Chornoby Memorial Scholarship: Anthony DeVirglio
Dollars for Scholars Community-Sponsored Award: Mikayla Bowman, Marcille Dalton, Kelsey Fitzpatrick, Dexter Fulford, Jessica Gulick, Jacob Johnson, Bryan Sherbrook and Cameran Tate
Dr. Richard B. Moore Family Scholarship: Corey Kay
Darrell Fennell Memorial Scholarship: Patricia Colly
Dr. and Mrs. Nathaniel Finby Memorial Scholarship: James McGriff
Dr. and Mrs. Charles Fischman Family Scholarship: Kristina Durr
Frank Richardson Memorial Scholarship: John Buehrig
Grand Harbor Community Outreach Scholarship: Caitlin Moriarty
J. Blaine Howard Memorial Scholarship: Mikayla Bowman
Frances and Ronald Jaffe Education Foundation Scholarship: Kristen Rocha and Marcel Wolff
John's Island Community Service League Scholarship: Chelsea Karst
Ralph Leonard Family Memorial Scholarship: Peter Hoffman and Michael Williams
John R. and Ann H. MacLean Family Nursing Scholarship: Santa Magadan
Tyrone McGriff Memorial Scholarship: Brittany Broxton
Margaret McReynolds Honorary Award: Shannon Holland
Lindsey Notter Memorial: Cameran Tate
Orchid Island Employees' Scholarship: Christina Combs and Alexandra Sanchez

Orchid Island Outreach Scholarship: Ariel Butler and Sarah Martin
James Perry Memorial Scholarship: Jacob Johnson
Quail Valley Charities Scholarship: Abby Smith, Kasey Valle, Montira Watsanserekul, and Jeremy Wynn
Richardson Scholar Awards: Kyle Bell, Kyle Johnson and Nicholas Stock
Realtors Association of Indian River County Scholarship: Dexter Fulford and Craig Morgan
Regency Park Employee Education Fund Scholarship: Benny Carson
Rotary Clubs of Indian River County Founders' Scholarship: Cory High
Richard C. Moore Memorial Scholarship: Amy Hiser
Hanna P. Salsburg Memorial Scholarship: Kelsey Fitzpatrick
Jay Sibson Memorial Scholarship: Melissa Clark, Laurence DeCastro, Anna Mikhelson, and Terra Nolde
Mary Hope Smathers Memorial Scholarship: Jacob Frank and Courtney Hardage
Dr. (Hon.) Stanley Steyer and Diana Mary Steyer Memorial: Alexis Thomas
Helen Sarah Steyer Award: Caitlin DeRousse
Thomas M. Steyer and Helen S. Steyer Award: Bryan Sherbrook
Thomas and Simonetta Steyer Award: Marcille Dalton
Rev. Jack Diehl Sunshine Physical Therapy Clinic Scholarship: Jeremy Wynn
VBHS Class of 1963 Scholarship: Corey Kay
Wabasso Woman's Club Scholarship: Jessica Gulick
Wachovia Opportunity Scholarship: La'Kendra Snell
Lewis Stanley Whitaker and Myrna Newell Whitaker Memorial: Kathryn Lanahan, and Nathaniel Robbins
Ellery, Jacqueline and Frank Winters Scholarship: Nicholas LoPresti
Charles and Virginia Wollenzin Memorial Scholarship: Kristin Becker

Richardson Scholars Exemplify Foundation's Motto - To Learn, To Lead, To Serve

Kyle Bell, an IRCHS grad who is studying pre-med and biology at Baylor University in Waco, Texas:

A community volunteer writes: "He is always able to enlist as many of his peers to volunteer as I request. He never fails me. If he is passionate about requesting assistance, he receives it. His peers simply want to be doing what he is doing."

Kyle Johnson, a SRHS graduate who is studying computer science at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign:

The director of a special needs program writes: "œWhat I found heartening were his warm and engaging interactions with our clients. As time passed, more individuals were curious and wanted to 'assist' him. He had them help, and he did it in a very natural way that epitomizes his character -a mentoring approach, leading by example."

Nicholas Stock, a VBHS grad who plans to major in English or Economics at the U. of Chicago

Says one teacher: "He is amazing in that he sets goals and achieves them no matter how difficult the road. His intellect is nothing short of breath-taking. He has skills that range from literature and mathematics to social culture and leadership. I have never had a student more respected by faculty and students."

2008 Richardson Scholars
Board members Nancy Luther (left) and Darby Gibbons (right) with 2008 Richardson Scholars (from left) Kyle Bell, Kyle Johnson, and Nick Stock



Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Address: PO Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1820  ·  Phone:772-569-9869  ·  Fax: 772-770-6181
Email: info@SFIndianRiver.org