| Home | Contact Us | Applicants | Recipients | Alumni | Scholarship Foundation of IRC Site Banner
Awarding need-based college scholarships to Indian River County students since 1965
Plan for College
Apply for Award
Renew your Award
Support Us
Alumni News
News and Events


Applicant News

Golf Classic

Kickoff Classic

Scholarship News

Photo Gallery



Jaffe Scholars Make their Mark

2008 Jaffe Scholars
Frances Jaffe (left) and Harvey Kornicks (right) with 2009 Jaffe Scholars

Victoria Damutz, a Vero Beach HS grad majoring in art history at New York University in New York City:

"œIntelligent, dedicated and hardworking," writes a teacher, "she is the epitome of a great student. She is genuinely interested in learning and is well-liked and can be counted on to help her fellow students."

John Narozanick, a Vero Beach HS grad studying engineering at Vanderbilt University in Nashville:

"œHe is truly a superlative student", says one teacher. "He thrives on competition and teamwork. Yet he never misses an opportunity to help tutor other members of the football team, pick up another kid on the way to a math competition or give a kid a laugh when they're down."

DFS Awards $392,000 at 44th Awards Ceremony

43rd Annual Awards Night
Recipients gathered at Sebastian River High School Performing Arts Center for Dollars for Scholars 2009 Awards Ceremony. Click for Awards Night Photo Gallery

Class of 2009 Awards



Ruth E. Anderson Memorial Scholarship: Lillian Marsiglia, Rainey Mills, Alexandra Rossi, Diana Watson
John Avril Memorial Scholarship: Cory Raynor
Thomas Chornoby Memorial Scholarship: Tyrone Collins
Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Memory of Marian L. Block: Jalisa Harris
Darrell Fennell Memorial Scholarship: Joseph Acquaviva
Dr. and Mrs. Nathaniel Finby Memorial Scholarship: Elizabeth Major
Frank Richardson Memorial Scholarship: Taylor Walker
Morris A. "Darby" Gibbons Memorial Scholarship: Shannon Staunton
J. Blaine Howard Memorial Scholarship: Stephen Kaltenbach
Jessica Smith Scholarship Award:Anthony Walton
Ralph Leonard Family Memorial Scholarship:Rachel Gomez, Meyonka Gray, Dabeer Hussain, Daniel Jennings, Robert Sowalsky
William L. Marine Memorial Scholarship: William Green
Tyrone McGriff Memorial Scholarship: Vincent Collins
James Perry Memorial Scholarship: Melody Weaver
Richard C. Moore Memorial Scholarship: Danielle Butman
Hanna P. Salsburg Memorial Scholarship: Jessica Frederick
Jay Sibson Memorial Scholarship: Zachary Frantz, Thomas Michaels
Mary Hope Smathers Memorial Scholarship: Kyle Dennery, Raphael Konforti, Sunny Middleton
Dr. (Hon.) Stanley Steyer and Diana Mary Steyer Memorial: Mickeya Green
Lewis Stanley Whitaker and Myrna Newell Whitaker Memorial: Alyssa Bloomer, Amanda Bloomer
Charles and Virginia Wollenzin Memorial Scholarship: Brittany Pfund




Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Honor of Samuel A. Block: Alessandro Bordoli, Errol Norman

Margaret McReynolds Honorary Award: Katherine Bailey


Dollars for Scholars Community-Sponsored Award: Deidra Ausby, Tiffany Barrett, Molly Broughman, Darren Brown, Vincent Collins, Michael DeBlasio, Ashley Fecca, Maureen Flanary, Zachary Frantz, Jessica Frederick, Rachel Gomez, Meyonka Gray, Jennifer Keller, Cody Krease, Anthony LaRosa, Tracy Lindsay, Joshua Loughry, Eris Mathis, Cory Raynor, Tyler Smith, Anhhuy Vu, Taylor Walker, Melody Weaver
Dr. and Mrs. Charles Fischman Family Scholarship: Allison Bazinet
Indian River Symphonic Association Scholarship: Molly Broughman, Courtney Smith
Frances and Ronald Jaffe Education Foundation Scholarship: Victoria Damutz, John Narozanick
John's Island Community Service League Scholarship: Molly Haight
John R. and Ann H. MacLean Family Nursing Scholarship: Dana Failla
Roger Larson Oak Harbor Employees' Scholarship Crystal Tumolo
Orchid Island Employees' Scholarship: Anthony Walton
Orchid Island Outreach Scholarship: Donteria Evans
Quail Valley Charities Scholarship: Bryan Baker, Michael DeChellis, Shannon Staunton, Alicia Strout
Realtors Association of Indian River County Scholarship: Regan Fuller, Jennifer Keller
Regency Park Employee Education Fund Scholarship: Gregory Hughes
Richardson Scholar Awards: Malcolm Dix, Jeffrey Liguori, Hannah Smoot
Rotary Clubs of Indian River County Founders' Scholarship: Monica Sowalsky
Helen Sarah Steyer Award: Molly Haight
Thomas M. Steyer and Helen S. Steyer Award: Nelson Juste
Thomas and Simonetta Steyer Award: Katherine Bartolucci
Wabasso Women's Club Scholarship: Brianne Schleppi
Wachovia Opportunity Scholarship: Olivia Crosdale, Rachel de Cuba
Ellery, Jacqueline and Frank Winters Scholarship: Tyler Smith

Richardson Scholars Exemplify Foundation's Motto - "To Learn, To Lead, To Serve"

Malcolm Dix, a Vero Beach HS grad who will study neurobiology at the University of Florida:

Says a counselor: "He truly feels that good things come to those who put others first. No task is too small or too large for him. His drive and passion for learning is prevalent in all of his endeavors."

Jeffrey Liguori, a Sebastian River graduate who will major in mathematics at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia:

"He stands out even among the brightest and best," writes an advisor, "because of his strong sense of purpose, his creativity, his leadership skills, his intellectual curiosity and his commitment to improving the lives of others."

Hannah Smoot, a Charter High School grad who will study International Relations at George Washington University in Washington, DC:

Says one advisor: " She lives each day to the fullest. Besides being an intelligent young woman with a tireless work ethic, she has enormous moral courage and the ability to persevere through difficult circumstances, while always remaining humble and dedicated to the well-being of others."

2008 Richardson Scholars
Nancy Richardson Luther (second from left) with new Richardson Scholars Hannah Smoot (left), Malcolm Dix (center) and Jeffrey Liguori (right)


Link to 2008 Awards


Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Address: PO Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1820  ·  Phone:772-569-9869  ·  Fax: 772-770-6181
Email: info@SFIndianRiver.org