| Home | Contact Us | Applicants | Recipients | Alumni | Scholarship Foundation of IRC Site Banner
Awarding need-based college scholarships to Indian River County students since 1965
Plan for College
Apply for Award
Renew your Award
Support Us
Alumni News
News and Events


Applicant News

Golf Classic

Football Classic

Scholarship News

Photo Gallery



Jaffe Scholars Make their Mark

2010 Jaffe Scholars
David and Frances Jaffe (left), with 2010 Jaffe Scholars (center) and 2007 Recipient Brittany Fallon (right)

Patrick (Nick) Groome, a St. Edward's graduate majoring in mechanical engineeering at the University of Florida in Gainesville:

"œHe's known for his kind-spirited leadership," writes a counselor. "He's got a great head on his shoulders, fast feet, a good soul and a tender heart." He writes: "My desire to be a leader pushes me to my full potential."

Katelyn Ward, a Sebastian River HS graduate studying bioengineering at the University of Florida in Gainesville:

"œShe has a remarkable ability to balance responsibilities," says one advisor. "She is a positive role model for the children she coaches as well as her peers." "Whether one is a leader," she writes, "is not dependent on SAT scores. A leader must be a well-rounded unique character who is, most importantly, able to learn."

DFS Awards $375,000 at 45th Awards Ceremony

43rd Annual Awards Night
Recipients gather at Vero Beach High School Performing Arts Center for Dollars for Scholars 2010 Awards Ceremony. Click for Awards Night Photo Gallery

Class of 2010 Awards



Ruth E. Anderson Memorial Scholarship:Shannon Myers, Brandon Prudenti, Patricia Retaleato, Patricia Thomas and Kelsi Trahan
John Avril Memorial Scholarship: John Zoda
Thomas Chornoby Memorial Scholarship:Antonia Rollins
Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Memory of Marian L. Block: Hanisha Patel
Darrell Fennell Memorial Scholarship: Letitia Halberstam
Dr. and Mrs. Nathaniel Finby Memorial Scholarship: Kellie Hurst
Frank Richardson Memorial Scholarship:Stetsyn Horst
Morris A. "Darby" Gibbons Memorial Scholarship: Vannette Robinson
J. Blaine Howard Memorial Scholarship: Kenneth Jackson
Ralph Leonard Family Memorial Scholarship: Jenipher Carrasquel, Aimee Kouns, Nicole Malone, Spencer Ross and David Warnick
William L. Marine Memorial Scholarship: John Kreger
Tyrone McGriff Memorial Scholarship: Cha'tonia Boles
Kenneth H. McKnight Memorial Scholarship:Taylor Johnson
Richard C. Moore Memorial Scholarship: April Petrun
James Perry Memorial Scholarship: Katherine Clarke
Hanna P. Salsburg Memorial Scholarship: Monei Strawter
Jay Sibson Memorial Scholarship: Amanda Bieber, Shannon Fleener
Mary Hope Smathers Memorial Scholarship: David Bedford, Elda Beton, Brittany Ohlrich, Timothy O'Shea, Zacheria Trahan
Dr. (Hon.) Stanley Steyer and Diana Mary Steyer Memorial: Kirk Henf
Lewis Stanley Whitaker and Myrna Newell Whitaker Memorial: Joshua Crowe, Nicholas Santangelo
Charles and Virginia Wollenzin Memorial Scholarship:Victoria Genovese




Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Honor of Samuel A. Block: Dana D'Haeseleer, Keeley McKenna

Margaret McReynolds Honorary Award: Ashley Stalvey


Dollars for Scholars Community-Sponsored Award:Victoria Bergsten, Elda Beton, Joseph Cafeo, Joshua Crowe, Damien Gilliams, Kirk Henf, Kenneth Jackson, Taylor Johnson, Pamela Kay, Jimmie Kouns, John Kreger, Kristal Lavender, Keeley McKenna, Porter Moore, Timothy O'Shea, April Petrun, Ashley Pleie, Antonia Rollins, Nicholas Santangelo, Monei Strawter, Kelsi Trahan, Zacheria Trahan, Lindsey Weixler, Anin Wise-Inglis
Dr. and Mrs. Charles Fischman Family Scholarship: Lindsey Weixler
Frances and Ronald Jaffe Education Foundation Scholarship: Patrick Groome, Katelyn Ward
Grand Harbor Community Outreach Scholarship: Porter Moore
John's Island Community Service League Scholarship: Daniel Gilley
John R. and Ann H. MacLean Family Nursing Scholarship: Ashley Pleie
Roger Larson Oak Harbor Employees' Scholarship: Jennifer Ryan, Sheronica Wilson
Orchid Island Employees' Scholarship: Kiani Waikiki
Orchid Island Outreach Scholarship: Kristal Lavender
Quail Valley Charities Scholarship: Krysta Cafeo, Leeann Diaz, Daniel Ordonez and Ashley Witkowski
Realtors Association of Indian River County Scholarship: Damien Gilliams and Pamela Kay
Richardson Scholar Awards: Mark Matteo, Will Peckham
Rotary Clubs of Indian River County Founders' Scholarship: Jimmie Kouns
Helen Sarah Steyer Award:Victoria Bergsten
Thomas M. Steyer and Helen S. Steyer Award: Joseph Cafeo
Thomas and Simonetta Steyer Award: John Garde
Wabasso Women's Club Scholarship: Mandi Herlan
Wachovia Opportunity Scholarship: Anin Wise-Inglis
Ellery, Jacqueline and Frank Winters Scholarship: Natasha Greene

Richardson Scholars Exemplify Foundation's Motto - "To Learn, To Lead, To Serve"

Mark Matteo, a Vero Beach HS grad who is studying finance at the University of Central Florida in Orlando:

Says a counselor: "He truly feels that good things come to those who put others first. No task is too small or too large for him. His drive and passion for learning is prevalent in all of his endeavors."

Will Peckham, a St. Edward's graduate is majoring in economics and environmental science at Middlebury College in Middlebury, VT:

Says one teacher: "He will work harder than anyone on the team, take the extra challenge in the classroom and put the group's needs first over his own. He makes the right choice seems easy, which allows him to be the perfect role model.ق│ He himself sees leadership as a "lifelong commitment" and seeks to make his mark through "leadership of a green technology business, serving the entire human race and the environment every single day."

2010 Richardson Scholars
Nancy Richardson Luther (center) with new Richardson Scholars Will Peckham (left) and Mark Matteo (right)



Links to
Awards Archive

2008 Awards

2009 Awards


Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Address: PO Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1820  ·  Phone:772-569-9869  ·  Fax: 772-770-6181
Email: info@SFIndianRiver.org