| Home | Contact Us | Applicants | Recipients | Alumni | SF of IRC Banner
Awarding need-based college scholarships to Indian River County students since 1965
Plan for College
Apply for Award
Renew your Award
Support Us
Alumni News
News and Events


Applicant News

Golf Classic

Football Classic

Scholarship News

Photo Gallery



Jaffe Scholars Make their Mark

2010 Jaffe Scholars
2011 Jaffe Scholars Briana Anderson (l) and Victoria Mangiapani (r)

Brianna Anderson, a Vero Beach High School graduate, majoring in journalism at the University of Florida in Gainesville:

She founded High 5, an group of student volunteers to tutor learning-disabled elementary students. "œAs a leader," she says, "œI contribute my ideas and push others to volunteer their time and effort to benefit the school and the community." Says a teacher: "œShe has a great reputation as a person our students and faculty respect. "

Victoria Mangiapani, a St. Edward's graduate studying anthropology at The College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, VA:

She won her school's award "œfor the student who has a passion for helping others, a love for athletics and a high ethical standard." Says an advisor: "œShe has no idea what a positive impact she has on our community, where she lends a helping hand wherever she can."

DFS Awards $489,000 at 46th Awards Ceremony

43rd Annual Awards Night
Recipients gather at the Community Church for Dollars for Scholars 2011 Awards Ceremony.
Click for Awards Ceremony Photo Gallery

Class of 2011 Awards



Ruth E. Anderson Memorial Scholarship: Gabrielle Hinton, Fedner Juste, Jessica Moss, Grace Thomas
John Avril Memorial Scholarship: John Andrea
Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Memory of Marian L. Block: Darian Hadjiabadi, Gwendolyn Lamothe
Thomas W. Chornoby Memorial Scholarship: Shawn Durrant
Darrell Fennell Memorial Scholarship: Christopher Iadarola
Dr. and Mrs. Nathaniel Finby Memorial Scholarship: Celerina Dreher
Frank Richardson Memorial Scholarship: Robert Ringeisen
Morris A. "Darby" Gibbons Memorial Scholarship: Elizabeth Sockol
J. Blaine Howard Memorial Scholarship: Noelle Adams
Ralph Leonard Family Memorial Scholarship: Scott Moore, Vishal Patel, Emma Rodriguez
William L. Marine Memorial Scholarship: Rashad Page
Tyrone McGriff Memorial Scholarship: Caricea Smith
Kenneth H. McKnight Memorial Scholarship: Sydney Koestoyo, Natasha Stewart
Margaret McReynolds Memorial Scholarship: Josuaire Pierre
James Perry Memorial Scholarship: Olivia Shadis
Richard C. Moore Memorial Scholarship: Jade Flores
Hanna P. Salsburg Memorial Scholarship: Kirstie Altman
Jay Sibson Memorial Scholarship: Jesus Moreno, Alexander Sechen
Mary Hope Smathers Memorial Scholarship: Melissa Philo, Emily Sweeny
Dr. (Hon.) Stanley Steyer and Diana Mary Steyer Award: Jileen Bray
Lewis Stanley Whitaker and Myrna Newell Whitaker Scholarship: Zachary DeVirgilio, Kandace Trodglen
Ellery, Jacqueline, and Frank Winters Scholarship: James Coyle
Charles and Virginia Wollenzin Memorial Scholarship: Brett Sonzogni




Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Honor of Samuel A. Block: Maxcimillion Lipkin



Dollars for Scholars Community-Sponsored Award: Noelle Adams, Kirstie Altman, John Andrea, Lilian Balch, Shawna Bowman, James Coyle, Katherine DiSandro, Celerina Dreher, Gwendolyn Lamothe, Richard Parra, Vishal Patel, Tatiana Penagos, Natanael Raya, Robert Ringeisen, Emma Rodriguez, Olivia Shadis, Caricea Smith
Faith Stewardship Scholarship: Corrin Anderson, Luci Brajon, Kaley Brunner, Katelynn Castaldo, David Cicco, Katharine Drum, Shawn Durrant, Sarah Eden, Jade Flores, Anastasia-Eva Gabor, Alexandria Huff, Anthony Kochensparger, Danica Kovachev, Cameron Morrison, Josuaire Pierre, Tristan Pylant, Brandon Talbott, Brittany Terry, Kandace Trodglen, Kymberli Zuckert
Dr. and Mrs. Charles Fischman Family Scholarship: Ariana Carter
Grand Harbor Community Outreach Scholarship: Elizabeth Jellie
Indian River Symphonic Association Scholarship: Tatiana Penagos
Frances and Ronald Jaffe Education Foundation Scholarship: Briana Anderson, Victoria Mangiapani
John R. and Ann H. MacLean Family Nursing Scholarship: Natanael Raya
Roger Larson Oak Harbor Employees' Scholarship: Abraham Estacio, Corrado Poli
Orchid Island Employees Scholarship: Melissa St. Clair
Orchid Island Outreach Scholarship: Kara Hall, Jordan Jacobs
Quail Valley Charities Scholarship: Venessa Bibeau, Andrew Howard, Margaret Mattingly
Realtors Association of Indian River County Scholarship: Danica Kovachev, Brandon Talbott
Richardson Scholar Award: Linh Nguyen, Maia Tinder
Rotary Clubs of Indian River County Dollars for Scholars Founders' Scholarship: Lilian Balch
Helen Sarah Steyer Award: Samantha McCloud
Thomas M. Steyer and Helen S. Steyer Award: Katherine DiSandro
Thomas and Simonetta Steyer Award: Melanie Rider
Wabasso Women's Club Scholarship: Shawna Bowman
Wachovia Opportunity Scholarship: Richard Parra

Richardson Scholars Exemplify Foundation's Motto - "To Learn, To Lead, To Serve"

Linh Nguyen, a graduate of St. Edward's School who is studying biochemistry at Rice University in Houston:

An organization advisor says: "œThe natural leadership abilities and positive attitude he brings to our organization is just part of who his is. His smile breaks down barriers, but it is his commitment and character that maintains relationships. He leads with confidence and compassion."

He himself believes effective leadership requires "œan open mind, pursuit of relevant knowledge and participation instead of simple delegation." As he puts these principles into action in his planned career as an ER trauma surgeon, he will undoubtedly be successful. As a school counselor observes, "He enjoys the challenges that are put in front of him and works even harder to achieve his goals."

Maia Tinder, a Vero Beach HS graduate who is majoring in kinesiology at The College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, VA:

She writes: "œMy life-long training in competitive gymnastics has nurtured a curiosity about the human body which has encouraged me to pursue a career as a doctor" with the dream of one-day working with at risk or low income children as an orthopedic surgeon.

Those who know her have no doubt she will succeed. She is, says a mentor, "œan exceptionally high achieving young woman...whose positive attitude, initiative and reliability set her apart from other students her age."

2010 Richardson Scholars
2011 Richardson Scholars Maia Tinder (l) and Linh Nguyen (r)


Links to
Awards Archive

2008 Awards

2009 Awards

2010 Awards


Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Address: PO Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1820  ·  Phone:772-569-9869  ·  Fax: 772-770-6181