| Home | Contact Us | Applicants | Recipients | Alumni | Dollars for Scholars of IRC
Awarding need-based college scholarships to Indian River County students since 1965
Plan for College
Apply for Award
Renew your Award
Support Us
Alumni News
News and Events


Applicant News

Golf Classic

Football Classic

Scholarship News

Photo Gallery


Jaffe Scholars Make their Mark

2010 Jaffe Scholars
2012 Jaffe Scholars Anmol Patel (l) and Andrew Holden (r)

Andrew Holden, a Vero Beach High School graduate, majoring in mechanical engineering at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY:

Class and student government president, math team VP, Eagle Scout, all-state choral musician, and 4.0 unweighted scholar, Andrew is, says a teacher, an "œhonest, dedicated, and diligent" leader "œwho takes pride in doing his best. I am amazed how he turns a group of pessimistic students into a group of individuals who respect and honor his opinion."

Anmol Patel, a St. Edward's graduate studying biology on a pre-med track at the University of Florida in Gainesville:

Class president, girls' lacross and soccer captain, and VP of Mu Alpha Theta and Key Clubs, Anmol was an Advanced Studies Scholar and one of three class salutatorians. Known for "œfearless intensity" on the field and "œmaturity and professionalism" in the lab, she is, says an advisor, "œa natural leader...who has gained success in steering her peers in the right direction. She has proven time and again that, whatever the challenge, hard work, commitment and focus will always prevail."

DFS Awards $471,000 at 47th Awards Ceremony

43rd Annual Awards Night
Recipients gather at St Edward's School for Dollars for Scholars 2012 Awards Ceremony. Click for Awards Ceremony Photo Gallery

Class of 2012 Awards



Ruth E. Anderson Memorial Scholarship: Mohaimen Khan, Aurora Purdy, Amanda Robbins
John Avril Memorial Scholarship: Brian Smith
Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Memory of Marian L. Block:Mary Lin, Mykhue Nguyen-Tran
Thomas W. Chornoby Memorial Scholarship: Jeffrey Price
Darrell Fennell Memorial Scholarship: Maria Manzo
Dr. and Mrs. Nathaniel Finby Memorial Scholarship:June Avery Barnes
Morris A. "Darby" Gibbons Memorial Scholarship: Madalyn Blakeman
J. Blaine Howard Memorial Scholarship: Blake Woodward
William L. Marine Memorial Scholarship: Martin Quistian
Tyrone McGriff Memorial Scholarship:Lonnie Scott
Kenneth H. McKnight Memorial Scholarship:Hannah Trodglen
Margaret McReynolds Memorial Scholarship:Carlee Ward, Blake Woodward
Richard C. Moore Memorial Scholarship:Elizabeth Kaltenbach
James Perry Memorial Scholarship: Dorothea O'Leary
Hanna P. Salsburg Memorial Scholarship:Zachary Anderson
Frank Richardson Memorial Scholarship: Victoria Zuckert
Jay Sibson Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Kelly, Sarah Mosher
Mary Hope Smathers Memorial Scholarship: Zachary Anderson, Austin Wade
Dr. (Hon.) Stanley Steyer and Diana Mary Steyer Award: Jennifer Stenback
Lewis Stanley Whitaker and Myrna Newell Whitaker Scholarship:Karina Otero, Matthew Woodson
Archie S. Wingfield, Jr. Scholarship:Danielle Harris
Ellery, Jacqueline, and Frank Winters Scholarship:Courtney Adkins
Charles and Virginia Wollenzin Memorial Scholarship:Samuel McCoy




Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Honor of Samuel A. Block: Casey Gilliams, Dominic Utter



Dollars for Scholars Community-Sponsored Award: Courtney Brawner, Annabelle Campbell, Maria Fuentes, Elizabeth Kaltenbach, Mohaimen Khan, Mary Lin, Samuel McCoy, Mykhue Nguyen-Tran, Dorothea O'Leary, Jeffrey Price, Cuco Santana, Grace Santangelo, Lonnie Scott, Brian J. Smith, Hannah Trodglen, Austin Wade, Carlee Ward, Alison Weber, Taylor Williamson
Faith Stewardship Scholarship:Mitchell Davis, Danielle Gasparik, Casey Gilliams, Sarah Kelly, Maria Manzo, Amber O'Dell
Dr. and Mrs. Charles Fischman Family Scholarship:Taylor Beam
Grand Harbor Community Outreach Scholarship: Annabelle Campbell
Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship: Alison Weber
Frances and Ronald Jaffe Education Foundation Scholarship: Andrew Holden, Anmol Patel
John R. and Ann H. MacLean Family Nursing Scholarship: Grace Santangelo
Orchid Island Outreach Scholarship: William Hoelke, Brooks Maxwell, Emilie Rappel
Quail Valley Charities Scholarship: Madison Bracken, Tylar Grantham, Isabelle Vernon, Taylor Williamson
Realtors Association of Indian River County Scholarship: Maria Fuentes, Cuco Santana
Regency Park Employees' Scholarship:Melvin Mondragon
Richardson Scholar Award:Brooke Evans, Emily Salvador
Rotary Clubs of Indian River County Dollars for Scholars Founders' Scholarship: Mitchell Davis
David M. Schuble Family Scholarship: Courtney Adkins, Tara Giovannone, Carly Mills, Mary-Hannah Nestor, Jordan Rooks
Helen Sarah Steyer Award: Courtney Brawner
Thomas M. Steyer and Helen S. Steyer Award: Karen Post
Thomas and Simonetta Steyer Award: Sarah Mosher
Rev. Jack Diehl Sunshine Physical Therapy: Amber O'Dell
Trinkets to Treasure: Victoria Zuckert
Wabasso Women's Club Scholarship: Danielle Gasparik
Wells Fargo Opportunity Scholarship: Ashley White

Richardson Scholars Exemplify Foundation's Motto - "To Learn, To Lead, To Serve"

Brooke Evans, a graduate of Sebastian River High School, who is studying neuroscience at Duke University in Durham, NC:

President of the Interact club and Mu Alpha Theta, co-captain of the girl's varsity basketball team, and state science fair finalist, Brooke is a "œnaturally-driven and compassionate" IB student who graduated 1st in her class.

She is known for her "œsuperior intellect and natural scholarly curiosity," but even more importantly as a teacher writes, "œfor the strongest work ethic I have ever seen, which she applies to every aspect of her life. She sets herself apart with her drive to be the most successful person she can be."

Emily Salvador, a St. Edward's School graduate who is majoring in biological sciences at the MIT in Cambridge, MA:

Accomplished pianist, varsity swimmer, award-winning choral musician, thespian, and scientist, Emily completed St. Ed's Advanced Studies program, earned recognition as a National Merit Commended Scholar and graduated as one of three class salutatorians.

She is, writes her counselor, "œas diligent as she is smart and as generous as she is talented. She sets a wonderful example for her many friends and peers with her unfailing integrity and infectious spirit of inquiry thats springs from a innate intelligence and a sincere interest in the world around her."

2010 Richardson Scholars
2012 Richardson Scholars Emily Salvador (l) and Brooke Evans (r)


Links to
Awards Archive

2008 Awards

2009 Awards

2010 Awards

2011 Awards


Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Address: PO Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1820  ·  Phone:772-569-9869  ·  Fax: 772-770-6181
Email: info@SFIndianRiver.org