| Home | Contact Us | Applicants | Recipients | Alumni | Scholarship Foundation of IRC Site Banner
Awarding need-based college scholarships to Indian River County students since 1965
Plan for College
Apply for Award
Renew your Award
Support Us
Alumni News
News and Events


Applicant News

Golf Classic

Football Classic

Scholarship News

Photo Gallery


Jaffe Scholars Make their Mark

2010 Jaffe Scholars
2012 Jaffe Scholars Harshonnati Jain (l) and Caroline Colbert (r) with Fraulein Jaffe

Harshonnati Jain, a Vero Beach High School graduate, pursuing a pre-med major at the University of Miami with a goal of being a researcher or practicioner:

1st in her class, National Merit Finalist, AP Scholar, and science fair winner, Unnati also made her mark as a cheerleader, soccer player, math team member, and reading mentor. She believes you learn from doing the "œunexpected" and "œwhat you learn and excel at should be shared with others." Says a teacher: She's got an electric personality that lights up a room and an infectious positive attitude that instills trust in those she leads."

Caroline Colbert, a Sebastian River High School graduate studying medical applications for nuclear engineering at MIT in Cambridge, MA:

1st in her class, National Merit Scholarship winner, and Sunshine State Scholar, Caroline was the principal flutist for the Wind Symphony and captained the Sharks band and Quiz Bowl team. Still she made time to spearhead a charity dodge ball tournament where she used her organizational and leadership skills to raise funds to fight malaria. "œShe is one of the most talented, motivated students I know," says a teacher. "œShe presents herself in a cheerful manner and is a positive role model for other students."

$504,000 Awarded at 48th Awards Ceremony

43rd Annual Awards Night
Recipients gather at Sebastian River High School for the 2013 Awards Ceremony. Click for Awards Ceremony Photo Gallery

Class of 2013 Awards


Ruth E. Anderson Memorial: Lauren Browning, Sage Gallarano, Mariah Jacobs, August Jellie, Jordanne Lamothe, Daniel Salvador
John Avril Memorial: Jordan Kutner
Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Memory of Marian L. Block:Kadin Campbell, Ember Courtney, Hope McGeady
Thomas W. Chornoby Memorial: Jesse DiSabato
Darrell Fennell Memorial: Alexander D'Haeseleer
Dr. and Mrs. Nathaniel Finby Memorial: Darrell Ellis
Morris A. "Darby" Gibbons Memorial:Kimberly Bucaccio
J. Blaine Howard Memorial: Erin Emott
William F. Ludwig Memorial: Ariel Ferguson
William L. Marine Memorial: Daniel Salvador
Tyrone McGriff Memorial: Eric Salazar
Kenneth H. McKnight Memorial: Lauren Browning
Margaret McReynolds Memorial: Matthew Flanagan
Richard C. Moore Memorial: Angela Jimenez
James Perry Memorial: Kayla Manning
Frank Richardson Memorial: Tamara Hunt
Hanna P. Salsburg Memorial: Olivia Bosma
Jay Sibson Memorial: Luke DiSandro, Joseph Sutherland
Mary Hope Smathers Memorial: Kadin Campbell, Carly Gorelick, Emily Lowery, Caroline Petty
Marjorie Arnold Soash Memorial: Kasey Lentini
Dr. (Hon.) Stanley Steyer and Diana Mary Steyer Award: John Leatherman
Dr.(Hon) Stanley Steyer and Diana Mary Steyer Memorial:John Leatherman
Lewis Stanley Whitaker and Myrna Newell Whitaker Scholarship: Matthew Ruggiano, Michael Ruggiano
Archie S. Wingfield, Jr. Scholarship: Julian Grudens, Dylan Kolb-Bond
Ellery, Jacqueline, and Frank Winters Scholarship: Maria Mena
Charles and Virginia Wollenzin Memorial: Samuel Statler


Honorary and Community-Sponsored

Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Honor of Samuel A. Block: August Jellie, Noemi Monnerville

Scholarship Foundation Award: Kimberly Bucaccio, Jennifer Conway, Ember Courtney, Alexander D'Haeseleer, Luke DiSandro, Ariel Ferguson, Angela Jimenez, Jessica Kostyo, Jordan Lazan, John Leatherman, Courtney Lechner, Kasey Lentini, Hope McGeady, Matthew Ruggiano, Michael Ruggiano, Robert Scott, Andrew Sechen, Samuel Statler, Joseph Sutherland

Dr. and Mrs. Charles Fischman Family Scholarship: Julianne Zimei
Grand Harbor Community Outreach Scholarship: Jennifer Conway
Indian River Symphonic Association Scholarship: Lauren Douglas
Frances and Ronald Jaffe Education Foundation Scholarship: Caroline Colbert, Harshonnati Jain
Herget Foundation Scholarship:Clynesha Cobb, Lindsey Noland
John R. and Ann H. MacLean Family Nursing Scholarship:Clynesha Cobb
Northern Trust Scholarship: Emily Lowery
Orchid Island Employees Scholarship: Victoria Maranitz
Orchid Island Opportunity Scholarship: Claudio Gonzalez
Orchid Island Outreach Scholarship: Gabrielle Carroll, Erin Walls
Quail Valley Charities Scholarship: Matthew Flanagan, Mariah Jacobs, Zachary Sibley, Sondra Strath-Adam
Realtors Association of IRC Scholarship: Rachel Koruo, Courtney Lechner
Richardson Scholar Award:Nicolette Brownstein, Molly Higgins
Roger Larson Oak Harbor Employees: Arcadio Magaأ▒a
Rotary Clubs of IRC Founders' Scholarship: Kylie Gallagher
David M. Schuble Family Scholarship: Cameron Dawson, Drisana Etayo, Andrew Gallagher, Carly Gorelick, Jessica Kostyo, Jordanne Lamothe, Zachary Miller, Robert Scott
Helen Sarah Steyer Award: Darrell Ellis
Thomas M. Steyer and Helen S. Steyer Award: Rachel Page
Thomas and Simonetta Steyer Award: Jordan Lazan
VBHS Class of 1963: Andrew Sechen
Wabasso Women's Club Scholarship: Julie Massimo
Wells Fargo Opportunity Scholarship: Dylan Gilbert

Richardson Scholars Exemplify Foundation's Motto - "To Learn, To Lead, To Serve"

Nicolette Brownstein, a graduate of Vero Beach High School, who is studying political science at Georgetown University in Washington, DC.:

AP ScholarDrum major and principal clarinetist of the Fighting Indians band, Nikki is an AP Scholar and Exchange Club Student of the Month ranks 7th in her class and carries an unweighted 4.0 GPA. She "œnot only excels in academics," says a teacher, "œbut in all aspects of her life in and out of school." Her Youth on a Mission advisor praises her "œnatural leadership ability" and "œdesire to teach." "œShe's a superb role model for the rest of the kids," he says, "œand will not leave until the job is done."

Molly Higgins, a Vero Beach High School graduate who is majoring in international business at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, PA:

AP Scholar, National Merit Commended Scholar, Exchange Club Student of the Month, and Youth on a Mission mentor known for her "œkind heart and understanding nature," this Vero Beach High School student captained her award-winning volleyball team for three years and won her school's Wendy's Heisman trophy. Says a teacher: "œHer remarkable presence is felt not only in the classroom. She's a selfless, concerned, energetic, compassionate and caring person" who's truly passionate about making a difference."

2010 Richardson Scholars
2013 Richardson Scholars Nicolette Brownstein (l) and Molly Higgins (r) with Nancy Richardson Luther


Links to
Awards Archive

2008 Awards

2009 Awards

2010 Awards

2011 Awards

2012 Awards


Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Address: PO Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1820  ·  Phone:772-569-9869  ·  Fax: 772-770-6181
Email: info@SFIndianRiver.org