| Home | Contact Us | Applicants | Recipients | Alumni | Scholarship Foundation of IRC Site Banner
Awarding need-based college scholarships to Indian River County students since 1965
Plan for College
Apply for Award
Renew your Award
Support Us
Alumni News
News and Events


Applicant News

Golf Classic

Football Classic

Scholarship News

Photo Gallery


Jaffe Scholars Make their Mark

Click picture for details

2016 Jaffe Scholars photo2016 Jaffe Scholars Barrett Jellie and Yevgeniya Gilmore

Barrett Jellie, a graduate of Vero Beach High School who is studying media management and political science at the University of Miami

Yevgeniya Gilmore, a graduate of Indian River Charter High School who will major in international relations at the University of Southern California

$695,000 Awarded at 51st Awards Ceremony

50th Annual Awards Night
Class of 2016 gathers at St. Edward's Waxlax Center for the Performing Arts
for the 51st Annual Awards Ceremony

Click for Awards Ceremony Photo Gallery

Class of 2016 Awards


Ruth E. Anderson Memorial:Karina Barbesino, Makaela Tippins
John Avril Memorial Scholarship: Ben Santangelo
Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Memory of Marian L. Block: Marcello Duong
Thomas W. Chornoby Memorial: Grant Price
Lois H. Cruze Memorial: Kimberley Toperzer
Robert C. Rathbone and August Dykstra Memorial: Karina Barbesino
Darrell Fennell Memorial: James Pizzo
Dr. and Mrs. Nathaniel Finby Memorial:Omar Raya
Morris A. "Darby" Gibbons Memorial: Cole Lipkin
Honeywell Cobb Family Scholarship: Julia Dingee
J. Blaine Howard Memorial: Michelle Ruggiano
Will and Doris Jorgensen Memorial: Eric Bush
Will and Doris Jorgensen Memorial for Students of the Arts:Haley Shields
William L. Marine Memorial: Patrick Zatz
Tyrone McGriff Memorial: Christina Norman
Kenneth H. McKnight Memorial: Melanie Funka
Margaret McReynolds Memorial: Johnathan Page
Richard C. Moore Memorial: Kendall Peterson
James Perry Memorial: Emily Peterson
Frank Richardson Memorial: Ana Scott
Danforth Kidd and Marjorie Hopwood Richardson Memorial Scholarship: Emily Miller
Hanna P. Salsburg Memorial: Julia Dingee
Jay Sibson Memorial: Hannah Sutter
Mary Hope Smathers Memorial: Benjamin Santangelo
Barbara L. Stevens Memorial: Abigail Threlkeld
Andrzej Humberto Steyer Memorial: Briana Giovannone
Dr. (Hon.) Stanley Steyer and Diana Mary Steyer Award: Michelle Ruggiano
Karen VanDeVoorde Memorial: Emily Peterson
Lewis Stanley Whitaker and Myrna Newell Whitaker: Kevin Barbesino, Shannon Fies
Charles and Virginia Wollenzin Memorial:Aurora Arrington
William S. Youngman Scholarship Award: Marland Micket



Indian River Blood Bank Scholarship in Honor of Samuel A. Block:: Mykhanh Nguyen-Tran


Garden Club of Indian River County Scholarship:Aurora Arrington
Grand Harbor Community Outreach Scholarship:Kimberly Toperzer
Gullquist Mullin Family Foundation Golf Sponsor Scholarship Award:Theo Willson
Herget Foundation Scholarship:Morgan Adams
Frances and Ronald Jaffe Education Foundation Scholarship: Barrett Jellie, Yevgeniya Gilmore
Jake Owen Foundation Scholarship:Amanda Gard
John R. and Ann H. MacLean Family Nursing Scholarship:Dan Hamada
John's Island Community Service League Employee Scholarship: Kristine Aguirre
Jay and Linda Knoll Scholarship: Athena Nolan
Northern Trust Scholarship:Eric Zwemer
Roger Larson Oak Harbor Employees Scholarship: Paula Manrique
Orchid Island Opportunity Scholarship:Melvin Baker, Erin Cady
Orchid Island Outreach Scholarship: : Kaela Miller
Quail Valley Charities Scholarship: Alyssa Motta, Omar Raya, Rebecca Vollmann
Realtors Association of Indian River County Scholarship: Caraline Intoccia, Paris Welker-Widell
Richardson Scholar Award:Jennifer Asselin, Karissa Mokoban
Rotary Clubs of IRC Scholarship: Rachel Tatro
Scholarship Foundation Award: Morgan Adams, Melvin Baker, Eric Bush, Erin Cady, Marcello Duong, Shannon Fies, Amanda Gard, Dan Hamada, Caraline Intoccia, Jordan Kimball, Cole Lipkin, Paula Manrique, Marland Micket, Emily Miller, Kaela Miller, Alyssa Motta, Mykhanh Nguyen-Tran, Athena Nolan, Christina Norman, Johnathan Page, Kendall Peterson, James Pizzo, Grant Price, Benjamin Santangelo, Ana Scott, Hannah Sutter, Rachel Tatro, Kimberley Toperzer, Hayden Vasquez, Rebecca Vollmann, Paris Welker-Widell, Theo Willson, Patrick Zatz, Eric Zwemer
James and Jane Schwiering Family Scholarship: Jordan Kimball
Helen Sarah Steyer Award: Ana Scott
Thomas M. Steyer and Helen S. Steyer Award:Abigail Threlkeld
Thomas and Simonetta Steyer Award: Shannon Fies
VanDeVoorde Family Scholarship: Melanie Funka
Wabasso Women's Club Scholarship: Makaela Tippins
Wells Fargo Opportunity Scholarship: Kevin Barbesino
Archie S. Wingfield, Jr. Scholarship:Erin Mays
Ellery, Jacqueline, and Frank Winters Scholarship:Hayden Vasquez

Richardson Scholars Exemplify Foundation's Motto - "To Learn, To Lead, To Serve"

Jennifer Asselin, a graduate of Indian River Charter High School who is majoring in civil engineering at Clemson University

Karissa Mokoban, a graduate of St. Edward's School who is majoring in international studies at Boston College

Click picture for details

2016 Richardson Scholars From left: Richardson Scholars Jennifer Asselin and Karissa Mokoban

Links to
Awards Archive

2008 Awards

2009 Awards

2010 Awards

2011 Awards

2012 Awards

2013 Awards

2014 Awards

2015 Awards


Scholarship Foundation of Indian River County
Address: PO Box 1820, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1820  ·  Phone:772-569-9869  ·  Fax: 772-770-6181
Email: info@SFIndianRiver.org